How to Delete Your Social Media Accounts

Ghostery Icon
Jordanna Kalkhof mai 26, 2020

Share This Post

Try Ghostery

Each social media platform offers its own version of privacy settings. (For instructions on how to adjust these settings for maximum privacy, visit our posts about Facebook and Instagram, as well as Twitter and YouTube.) However, some users don’t believe these controls are enough in light of the privacy & security concerns surrounding social media as a whole. If you’re ready to say goodbye to these platforms, here’s a step-by-step guide on how to delete your accounts.

 

Twitter Account

To deactivate your account:

Desktop

Go to Settings and Privacy > scroll down to Deactivate Your Account > Review the information and select Deactivate.

Mobile

Go to Settings and Privacy > choose Account > Deactivate Your Account > Review the information and select Deactivate.

Note: After 30 days, your deactivated account will become permanently deleted.

 

Facebook Account

To deactivate or permanently delete your account:

Desktop

Click the drop-down arrow in the upper right corner > Settings > select Your Facebook Information in the left-hand column > Deactivation and Deletion.

Mobile

Click the settings gear on your profile page > View Privacy Shortcuts > scroll down to Delete Your Account and Information.

 

Instagram Account

To deactivate or permanently delete your account:

Desktop

To deactivate your account, go to your profile page > select Edit Profile > Temporarily Disable My Account.

To delete your account, visit https://www.instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/permanent/ > if you’re not already signed in, you will be prompted to sign in to your account before continuing > select a reason for deleting your account.

 

Will Deleting Your Social Media Accounts Keep You from Being Tracked Online?

Unfortunately, protecting your online identity isn’t as simple as deleting social media accounts. Why? Here’s an example: Facebook (who also owns Instagram) tracks almost 30% of web traffic according to a Ghostery study. These tracking scripts allow Facebook to gather and collect data outside of the platform itself. This is why you can shop for a particular item online and then see ads for that item on your feed almost immediately after. This data is valuable whether it can be tied to an existing account or not. Even when users don’t have a Facebook account, data is still being collected about them through the use of shadow profiles. “The tracking data contains unique identifiers (UIDs) that theoretically enable Facebook to link behavioral data to individual Internet users and to de-anonymize them very easily.” Deleting your account won’t protect you from this type of tracking.

If you’re taking this initiative, we suggest going a step further and using anti-tracking tools in tandem with your other privacy efforts. Anti-tracking tools, such as Ghostery, identify tracking scripts on webpages and block them before they are able to collect your data, giving you a faster and safer browsing experience. Download the Ghostery Browser Extension for free to start blocking trackers today.

Subscribe to our newsletter